Catholic Schools Office Maitland-Newcastle Logo

Catholic schools base their teaching and learning programs on the NSW Education Standards Authority (NESA) syllabuses for Key Learning Areas, with Religious Education at the core of their curriculum.

In 2014 NSW schools began teaching a new Curriculum for Kindergarten - Year 10 in English Mathematics, Science and History. These new curriculum documents for teachers were developed by NESA for all schools in NSW and incorporate the agreed content from the Australian Curriculum Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) national curriculum.

The Curriculum is structured around the outcomes and content for each learning area and general capabilities for learning across the curriculum including literacy, numeracy, information and communication technology, critical and creative thinking, ethical behaviour, personal and social competence and intercultural understanding.